SSIS Myths – Phil May Have Beaten Me To It

Last week I posted a “call for myths” about SSIS. My schedule has been insane since then and I’ve found little time to follow up on this myself, but today I stumbled across a delightful source of misinformation about SSIS, on Oren Eini’s blog: http://ayende.com/Blog/archive/2007/07/15/SSIS-15-Faults.aspx.

Hooray, I thought, here is a pre-built source of “myths” about SSIS that I can use instead of needing to build the entire list myself.

But sadly (for me, not for the SSIS community), Phil Brammer (SQL Server MVP and vocal member of the SSIS community) has already responded to Oren’s attack:

http://www.ssistalk.com/2007/07/27/ssis-15-faults-rebuttal/#more-60

I may still use some of Oren’s points later on, but for now, you should check it out and see what Phil has to say in response.

About ssimagine

My name is Matthew Roche, and I am a Senior Program Manager with the SQL Server product group at Microsoft. I work on Master Data Services and Data Quality Services, and have previously worked on SQL Server Integration Services. Although I work for Microsoft and will be posting on technical topics, I want to stress that this is a personal blog, and any opinions posted here are mine and mine alone. I built my career around SQL Server and Microsoft technologies for well over a decade before I joined Microsoft as an employee, and I plan on using this blog to share my personal experience and opinions. They may well be shaped by my experience on the SQL Server team, but they’re still mine, and not that of Microsoft, disclaimer, disclaimer, etc., etc..
This entry was posted in Myths, SSIS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SSIS Myths – Phil May Have Beaten Me To It

  1. jwelch says:

    Jamie Thompson, too :)http://blogs.conchango.com/jamiethomson/archive/2007/07/27/SSIS_3A00_-The-backlash-continues.aspx

  2. Thanks!I actually found this whole series of drama threads this afternoon after posting the original post, but my day got kind of crazy (darn those clients 😉 and I never got back to the blog. Now I’m just asking myself how I could have missed this blow-up in the first place?Of course, I’m also asking myself how anyone could use Oracle (and seem to like it) and complain about the error messages produced by any other tool. I ask myself a lot of questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

