A Tip For TechEd

If you’re like me, you’re preparing for a trip to TechEd, Microsoft’s biggest technical conference, to spend a week or two at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. If this is the case, then I have an important tip for you:

Buy new insoles for your shoes.

That wasn’t what you were expecting, is it? It’s certainly not technical advice, but it will help you get the most out of the conference. The OCCC is huge. Massive. The main room (where the Technical Learning Center will be located) is the biggest room in the world. Seriously big. And that means that you’ll be doing a lot of walking, and a lot of standing, and (trust me on this one) there’s not a lot of padding between the carpet and the cement floor underneath.

So do yourself – and your feet – a big favor: Buy new insoles before the conference begins. Your feet will thank you. Mine are thanking me already.

About ssimagine

My name is Matthew Roche, and I am a Senior Program Manager with the SQL Server product group at Microsoft. I work on Master Data Services and Data Quality Services, and have previously worked on SQL Server Integration Services. Although I work for Microsoft and will be posting on technical topics, I want to stress that this is a personal blog, and any opinions posted here are mine and mine alone. I built my career around SQL Server and Microsoft technologies for well over a decade before I joined Microsoft as an employee, and I plan on using this blog to share my personal experience and opinions. They may well be shaped by my experience on the SQL Server team, but they’re still mine, and not that of Microsoft, disclaimer, disclaimer, etc., etc..
This entry was posted in Conference, Tangents. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tip For TechEd

  1. klt says:

    gEspecially in those MAN-O-WAR approved boots…

  2. Yeah. ESPECIALLY for them!

Leave a Reply

