It’s Not Easy Being BI

I’ve been known to sometimes say that "being BI effectively doubles your chances of getting a consulting engagement on a Friday night." Yeah, it’s kind of cheesy, but if you can’t have fun with wordplays, what can you do, right?[1]

Well, the joke is sounding a little less funny today.

I’m currently involved in organizing a business intelligence conference[2] and have been sending emails to colleagues and potential speakers and have not been having the best of luck. In fact, when sending one email to an employee of a certain software company located in the Pacific Northwest, I got this explanation for why the email was rejected:

<Your e-mail was rejected by an anti-spam content filter on gateway (1.2.3.4). Reasons for rejection may be: obscene language, graphics, or spam-like characteristics. Removing these may let the e-mail through the filter.>

Yeah, no kidding.

I then went through the email and replaced all instances of "BI" with "Business Intelligence" and the email went through without error. But today I’ve been fighting with a few more similar problems – what a way to waste a few hours I didn’t have to spare.

Has anyone else seen this issue?

 

[1] There are many other humorous stories that revolve around this particular play on words, like the well-known Microsoft speaker who wore his "BI Power Hour" t-shirt to the hotel bar at TechEd last year (not knowing that there was a gay pride event going on at the same time) and ended up having lots of nice men buy him drinks.

[2] More details on this in the days and weeks ahead – stay tuned!

About ssimagine

My name is Matthew Roche, and I am a Senior Program Manager with the SQL Server product group at Microsoft. I work on Master Data Services and Data Quality Services, and have previously worked on SQL Server Integration Services. Although I work for Microsoft and will be posting on technical topics, I want to stress that this is a personal blog, and any opinions posted here are mine and mine alone. I built my career around SQL Server and Microsoft technologies for well over a decade before I joined Microsoft as an employee, and I plan on using this blog to share my personal experience and opinions. They may well be shaped by my experience on the SQL Server team, but they’re still mine, and not that of Microsoft, disclaimer, disclaimer, etc., etc..
This entry was posted in BI, Tangents. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Not Easy Being BI

  1. Matt says:

    haha.. love the title. That’s amazing that the email filter blocked it. It’ll make this year’s BI conference interesting.

  2. Thank you! After Chris Randall decided to attack my amazing sense of humor ( http://blogs.ameriteach.com/chris-randall/2008/6/18/ssis-tools-learn-to-use-pacman.html ) it’s nice to know that at least someone appreciates the puns. 😉

  3. SDC says:

    I’ve pondered starting a BI blog called ‘BI Curious’, but that’s sure to get flagged as spam…

  4. This was one of the titles I was considering too:Other blog names considered but ultimately rejected included:BI and ProudBI CuriousThe Big BI Guy (sort of a homage to “SoCalDevGal”)http://bi-polar23.blogspot.com/2007/05/photomerge.html

  5. mcasalino says:

    Well, a friend of mine has some problems sending emails because his domain is “analytics” and there seems to be some offending part in there.

Leave a Reply

